DWI In NC: Consequences & When to Contact a Lawyer
If you are charged with DWI in North Carolina, the penalties and consequences may be very harsh. Thus, if you are facing DWI charges and wonder what may be coming next, rely on a criminal law firm in Raleigh NC that specializes in these cases, such as the Law Offices of Karl Knudsen.
While people assume all states have standard BAC limits, that is not the case in North Carolina. For example, if you have a prior DWI conviction, your BAC is not allowed to be greater than .04 if you are pulled over by police. Also, while drivers of standard vehicles cannot exceed .08 BAC, drivers of commercial vehicles cannot exceed .04 BAC.
Consequences of DWI
If convicted of DWI in North Carolina, you may be facing penalties on many levels. For example, a Level 5 DWI can result in a license suspension of 30 days, a $200 fine, 60 days in jail, and mandatory substance abuse treatment. However, if you are convicted of Aggravated Level 1 DWI, your fines will increase to $10,000. Along with this, you may also be facing 36 months in jail. Because of this, always rely on Raleigh DWI lawyers who have proven track records of success in these cases.
In some situations, you may be mistakenly charged with DWI. For example, police may lack proper training in using breathalyzer equipment, use faulty equipment for the test, or fail to realize medical conditions that mimic DWI. Rather than let yourself be convicted of a crime you did not commit, hire the services of a criminal law firm in Raleigh NC who can get to the bottom of what really happened.
If you need Raleigh DWI lawyers who understand the complexities of these cases and fight hard for their clients, schedule an immediate consultation with the Law Offices of Karl Knudsen.